Ann Rutherford



Place of birth:

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada:


Ann Rutherford was born in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The daughter of a former Metropolitan Opera singer, John Rutherford, and her actress mother, Lillian Mansfield, Ann was destined for show business. Not long after her birth, her family moved to California, where she made her stage debut in 1925. Ann appeared in many plays and on radio for the next nine years before making her first screen appearance in Waterfront Lady (1935). Ann's talent was readily apparent, and she was signed to three films in 1935: Waterfront Lady (1935), Melody Trail (1935), and The Fighting Marines (1935). By now, she was a leading lady in the fabled Westerns with two legends, John Wayne and Gene Autry. By the time Ann was 17, she inked a deal with MGM, where she would gain the status of superstar for her portrayal of Polly Benedict in the popular Andy Hardy series with Mickey Rooney. Ann's first role as Polly was in 1938, in You're Only Young Once (1937). Three more Hardy films were produced that same year: Out West with the Hardys (1938), Love Finds Andy Hardy (1938), and Judge Hardy's Children (1938). Ann found time to play in other productions, too. One that is still loved today is the Charles Dickens' classic A Christmas Carol (1938), in which she played the sweet role of the Spirit of Christmas Past. In 1939, Ann played the role of Annie Hawks in Of Human Hearts (1938) in addition to three more Andy Hardy films. But that year also saw Ann land a role in the most popular film in film history. She played Careen O'Hara, Scarlett's little sister, in Gone with the Wind (1939). Plenty of fans of the Andy Hardy series went to see it just for Ann. The film was unquestionably a super hit. Ann then resumed making other movies. While working for MGM, Ann, along with the other stars, was under the watchful eye of movie mogul Louis B. Mayer. The bottom line was profit, and Mayer kept performers' salaries minimized as much as possible. Most tried to get raises and failed. Even Mickey Rooney was decidedly underpaid during his glory years at MGM. But not Ann Rutherford. When she asked for a raise, she took out her bankbook and, showing him the amount it contained, told Mayer she had promised her mother a new house. Ann got her raise. In 1942 at the age of 22, Ann appeared in her last Andy Hardy film, Andy Hardy's Double Life (1942). She then left MGM and freelanced her talent. Ann was still in demand. In 1943, she appeared in Happy Land (1943), but it was a little later in her career when she appeared in two big hits. In 1947, she played Gertrude Griswold in The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, and Donna Elena in Adventures of Don Juan in 1948. After that, Ann appeared in several TV programs and didn't return to the silver screen until 1972, in They Only Kill Their Masters (1972). Her last role came in 1976 in the dismal Won Ton Ton: The Dog Who Saved Hollywood (1976), whereupon she retired. Ann was approached to play the older Rose in 1998's mega hit Titanic (1997) but turned it down. She happily enjoyed her retirement being constantly deluged with fan mail and granting several interviews and appearances. Ann Rutherford died at her Beverly Hills home on June 11, 2012 with her close friend Anne Jeffreys by her side. She was 94 years old.

Film Credits

The Making of a Legend: Gone with the Wind (1988)
as Herself
Hollywood Out-takes and Rare Footage (1983)
as Herself (archive footage)
Won Ton Ton: the Dog Who Saved Hollywood (1976)
as Grayson's Studio Secretary
They Only Kill Their Masters (1972)
as Gloria
Operation Haylift (1950)
as Clara Masters
Adventures of Don Juan (1948)
as Donna Elena
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (1947)
as Gertrude Griswold
Inside Job (1946)
as Claire Norton
Murder in the Music Hall (1946)
as Gracie
The Madonna's Secret (1946)
as Linda 'Morgan' North
Bedside Manner (1945)
as Lola Cross
Two O'Clock Courage (1945)
as Patty Mitchell
Take It or Leave It (1944)
Bermuda Mystery (1944)
as Constance Martin
Whistling in Brooklyn (1943)
as Carol Lambert
Happy Land (1943)
as Lenore Prentiss
Show-Business at War (1943)
as Herself
Whistling in Dixie (1942)
as Carol Lambert
Andy Hardy's Double Life (1942)
as Polly Benedict
Orchestra Wives (1942)
as Connie Ward Abbot
The Courtship of Andy Hardy (1942)
as Polly Benedict
This Time for Keeps (1942)
as Katherine 'Kit' White
Badlands Of Dakota (1941)
as Anne Grayson
Life Begins for Andy Hardy (1941)
as Polly Benedict
Whistling in the Dark (1941)
as Carol Lambert
Washington Melodrama (1941)
as Laurie Claymore
Andy Hardy's Private Secretary (1941)
as Polly Benedict
Keeping Company (1940)
as Mary Thomas
Wyoming (1940)
as Lucy Kincaid
Cavalcade of the Academy Awards (1940)
as Herself
Pride and Prejudice (1940)
as Lydia Bennet
Andy Hardy Meets Debutante (1940)
as Polly Benedict
Hollywood: Style Center of the World (1940)
as Herself
The Ghost Comes Home (1940)
as Billie Adams
Andy Hardy's Dilemma: A Lesson in Mathematics... and Other Things (1940)
as Polly Benedict (uncredited)
Judge Hardy and Son (1939)
as Polly Benedict
Gone with the Wind (1939)
as Carreen O'Hara
Dancing Co-Ed (1939)
as Eve Greeley
These Glamour Girls (1939)
as Mary Rose Wilston
Andy Hardy Gets Spring Fever (1939)
as Polly Benedict
Angel of Mercy (1939)
as Sister of Dead Soldier
The Hardys Ride High (1939)
as Polly Benedict
Four Girls in White (1939)
as Patricia 'Pat' Page
A Christmas Carol (1938)
as Spirit of Christmas Past
Dramatic School (1938)
as Yvonne
Out West with the Hardys (1938)
as Polly Benedict
Love Finds Andy Hardy (1938)
as Polly Benedict
Judge Hardy's Children (1938)
as Polly Benedict
Of Human Hearts (1938)
as Annie Hawks
You're Only Young Once (1937)
as Polly Benedict
The Bride Wore Red (1937)
as Third Peasant Girl
The Devil Is Driving (1937)
as Kitty Wooster
Public Cowboy No. 1 (1937)
as Helen Morgan
Carnival in Paris (1937)
as Lisette
Espionage (1937)
as Train Passenger
Annie Laurie (1936)
as Annie Laurie
Down to the Sea (1936)
as Helen Pappas
The Lonely Trail (1936)
as Virginia Terry
The Harvester (1936)
as Ruth Jameson
Comin' 'Round the Mountain (1936)
as Dolores Moreno
Doughnuts and Society (1936)
as Joan Dugan
The Lawless Nineties (1936)
as Janet Carter
The Oregon Trail (1936)
as Anne Ridgeley
The Singing Vagabond (1935)
as Lettie Morgan
The Fighting Marines (1935)
as Frances Schiller
Melody Trail (1935)
as Millicent Thomas
Waterfront Lady (1935)
as Joan O'Brien
Student Tour (1934)
as Student