The Sound of Music (1965)


A tomboyish postulant at an Austrian abbey becomes a governess in the home of a widowed naval captain with seven children, and brings a new love of life and music into the home.

The Sound of Music 123movies
Movie Score: 7.5/10 from 1322 votes
Release Date: 1965-03-02
Status: Released
Run time: 174 min / 2:54
Production Studio : Robert Wise Productions, Argyle Enterprises, 20th Century Fox
Production Country: United States of America
Loading the player...

The Sound of Music Casts

Julie Andrews
as Maria
Christopher Plummer
as Captain Von Trapp
Eleanor Parker
as The Baroness
Richard Haydn
as Max Detweiler
Peggy Wood
as Mother Abbess
Charmian Carr
as Liesl
Heather Menzies
as Louisa
Nicholas Hammond
as Friedrich
Duane Chase
as Kurt
Angela Cartwright
as Brigitta
Debbie Turner
as Marta
Kym Kareth
as Gretl
Anna Lee
as Sister Margareta
Portia Nelson
as Sister Berthe
Ben Wright
as Herr Zeller
Daniel Truhitte
as Rolfe
Norma Varden
as Frau Schmidt
Gilchrist Stuart
as Franz
Marni Nixon
as Sister Sophia
Evadne Baker
as Sister Bernice
Doris Lloyd
as Baroness Ebberfield
Bert Stevens
as Party Guest
Gertrude Astor
as Party Guest
Frank Baker
as Party Guest

The Sound of Music Crew

Directing Robert Wise Director
Editing William Reynolds Editor
Writing Howard Lindsay Screenplay
Writing Ernest Lehman Screenplay
Camera Ted D. McCord Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Dorothy Jeakins Costume Design
Writing Russel Crouse Screenplay
Production Lee Wallace Casting
Production Saul Chaplin Associate Producer
Production Robert Wise Producer
Production Peter Levathes Executive Producer
Production Richard D. Zanuck Executive Producer
Sound Irwin Kostal Original Music Composer
Art Boris Leven Production Design
Art Ruby R. Levitt Set Decoration
Art Walter M. Scott Set Decoration
Production Saul Wurtzel Unit Production Manager
Directing Ridgeway Callow Assistant Director