Tony Leung Chiu-wai



Place of birth:

Hong Kong, British Crown Colony [now China]:


Tony Leung Chiu-wai (born 27 June 1962) is a Hong Kong actor and singer. He is considered one of Asia's most successful and internationally recognised actors and was named as "Small Tiger" among the Five Tiger Generals of TVB. He has won many international acting prizes, including the Cannes Film Festival award for Best Actor for his performance in Wong Kar-wai's film In the Mood for Love. Leung is widely considered the best native Hong Kong actor of his generation. He was named by CNN as one of "Asia's 25 Greatest Actors of All Time". Leung is known for his collaborations with director Wong Kar-wai, with whom he has worked in seven films including Chungking Express (1994), Happy Together (1997), In the Mood for Love (2000), and The Grandmaster (2013). He also appeared in three Venice Film Festival Golden Lion-winning films, including A City of Sadness (1989), Cyclo (1995) and Lust, Caution (2007), directed by Ang Lee. Leung also stars in the Academy Award-nominated film Hero, and the box office hits Hard Boiled (1992) and Infernal Affairs (2002). Leung was cast as the Mandarin in the Marvel Cinematic Universe film Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021). Leung has a comprehensive set of awards that he has won in a career that began in the 1980s. For In the Mood for Love, Leung earned the Best Actor award at the Cannes Film Festival. He is also a seven-time winner at the Hong Kong Film Awards and three-time winner at the Golden Horse Film Awards, holding the record for most awards in the Best Actor category. The 2002 book East Asian Film Stars describes Leung as "undoubtedly one of the most successful and widely-acclaimed Hong Kong actors of his generation, with a broad and diverse filmography."

Film Credits

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)
as Xu Wenwu / The Mandarin
風再起時 (2021)
as Nam Kong
猎狐行动 (2021)
欧洲攻略 (2018)
as Mr. Lin
捉妖记2 (2018)
as Tu Sigu
摆渡人 (2016)
as Chen Mo
ཧེ་མ་ཧེ་མ། (2016)
as Deer / Serene Mask
Miss You Much Leslie (2013)
一代宗師 (2013)
as Ip Man
听风者 (2012)
as He Bing
大魔術師 (2011)
as Zhang Xian
海上传奇 (2010)
as Himself (Archival footage)
赤壁2:決戰天下 (2009)
as Zhou Yu
赤壁 (2008)
as Zhou Yu
色‧戒 (2007)
as Mr. Yee
Confession Of Pain (2006)
as Lau Ching-Hei
無間道三部曲(正序版) (2006)
as Chan Wing Yan
韓城攻略 (2005)
as Lam
2046 (2004)
as Chow Mo-Wan
我要做Model (2004)
as Interviewee praising Mandom
1:99 電影行動 (2003)
as 10)
地下鐵 (2003)
as Ho Yuk-Ming
無間道III: 終極無間 (2003)
as Chan Wing-Yan
行運超人 (2003)
as Lai Liu Po
無間道 (2002)
as Chan Wing-Yan
Cause: The Birth of Hero (2002)
as Himself
英雄 (2002)
as Broken Sword
天下無雙 (2002)
as Li Yilong
@In the Mood for Love (2001)
as Himself
同居蜜友 (2001)
as Veg Chiang Tung-Choi
有情飲水飽 (2001)
as Richard Ma
花樣年華 (2000)
as Chow Mo-Wan
俠骨仁心 (2000)
as Lawrence Ching
東京攻略 (2000)
as Lin
玻璃樽 (1999)
as Albert
摄氏零度·春光再现 (1999)
as Himself / Lai Yiu-fai
海上花 (1998)
as Wang
每天愛您8小時 (1998)
as Tony Cheung Suk Wai
超時空要愛 (1998)
as Lau Yat Lo/Zhuge Liang
暗花 (1998)
as Sam
黑獄斷腸歌之砌生豬肉 (1997)
as Ching On
春光乍洩 (1997)
as Lai Yiu-fai
最佳拍檔之醉街拍檔 (1997)
as Chui Cheong / Drunk Gun
偷偷愛你 (1996)
as Wing Chi Wing
洪興仔之江湖大風暴 (1996)
as Hong Fei
救世神棍 (1995)
as Wong Tai Fung
流氓醫生 (1995)
as Dr. Lau Mack
明日天涯 (1995)
Xích lô (1995)
as Poet
東邪西毒 (1994)
as Blind Swordsman
等着你回来 (1994)
as Lee Yick Cheung
重慶森林 (1994)
as Policeman 663
神龙赌圣之旗开得胜 (1994)
as Master Sha
新難兄難弟 (1993)
as Chor Yuen
情人知己 (1993)
as Billy / Lam Tai-Chi
新仙鶴神針 (1993)
as Ma Kwun-Mo
正牌韋小寶之奉旨溝女 (1993)
as Wai Siu-Bo
反斗馬騮 (1993)
as Liu Chia-Lun
風塵三俠 (1993)
as Tom Chan
射鵰英雄傳之東成西就 (1993)
as Ou-yang Feng
新流星蝴蝶劍 (1993)
as Meng Sing-Wan
Film ohne Fesseln - Das neue Hongkong Kino (1993)
as [archive footage]
異域之末路英雄 (1993)
as Fan Long
三個夏天 (1992)
as Wai
亞飛與亞基 (1992)
as Fred
踢到寶 (1992)
as Dian Fa
辣手神探 (1992)
as Alan
中環英雄 (1991)
as Chiang Ho-Chie
豪門夜宴 (1991)
as Wai Chai
倩女幽魂III:道道道 (1991)
as Monk Fong
五虎將之決裂 (1991)
as Dandruff / Tau-Pi
千王 (1991)
as Snake Wai
沙灘仔與周師奶 (1991)
as Beach Boy
阿飛正傳 (1990)
as Chow Mo-wan
喋血街頭 (1990)
as Ben
魔畫情 (1990)
as Stupid Shing
悲情城市 (1989)
as Wen-Ching
忠義群英 (1989)
as Wong Way-Wu
殺手蝴蝶夢 (1989)
as Cheung
鐵甲無敵瑪利亞 (1988)
as T. Q. Zhuang
開心快活人 (1987)
as Wei
人民英雄 (1987)
as Ah Sai
地下情 (1986)
as Tony Cheung
癲佬正傳 (1986)
as Doggie
青春差館 (1985)
花心紅杏 (1985)
as Ah Kit / Lee Lun-Kit
瘋狂83 (1983)
臨歧:歧途 (1983)
as Ah Man
Forced Vengeance (1982)
as Young Intern
死亡遊戲 (1978)
as David
Under Control ()
as Albert
金手指 ()
The Making of the Grandmaster ()
as Self
无名 ()