Alan Bates



Place of birth:

Allestree, Derbyshire, England:


Sir Alan Arthur Bates CBE (17 February 1934 – 27 December 2003) was an English actor, who came to prominence in the 1960s, a time of high creativity in British cinema, when he demonstrated his versatility in films ranging from the popular children’s story Whistle Down the Wind to the "kitchen sink" drama A Kind of Loving. He is also known for his tour-de-force with Anthony Quinn, Zorba the Greek, as well as his roles in King of Hearts, Georgy Girl, Far From the Madding Crowd, and The Fixer, which gave him an Academy Award nomination for Best Actor. In 1969, he starred in the Ken Russell film Women in Love with Oliver Reed and Glenda Jackson. Bates went on to star in The Go-Between, An Unmarried Woman, Nijinsky, and The Rose with Bette Midler, as well as playing varied roles in television drama, including The Mayor of Casterbridge, Harold Pinter's The Collection, A Voyage Round My Father, An Englishman Abroad (as Guy Burgess), and Pack of Lies. He also continued to appear on the stage, notably in the plays of Simon Gray, such as Butley and Otherwise Engaged.

Film Credits

Spartacus (2004)
as Antonius Agrippa
Hollywood North (2004)
as Michael Baytes
The Statement (2003)
as Armand Bertier
Meanwhile (2003)
Evelyn (2002)
as Thomas Connolly
Bertie and Elizabeth (2002)
as King George V
The Sum of All Fears (2002)
as Dressler
The Mothman Prophecies (2002)
as Alexander Leek
Salem Witch Trials (2002)
as Sir William Phips
Gosford Park (2001)
as Jennings
Anthony Quinn: The Final Words (2001)
as Himself
St. Patrick: The Irish Legend (2000)
as Calpornius
The Prince and the Pauper (2000)
as Re Enrico VIII
Arabian Nights (2000)
as Storyteller
The Cherry Orchard (1999)
as Gayev
Nicholas' Gift (1998)
The Grotesque (1995)
as Sir Hugo Coal
Hard Times (1994)
Shuttlecock (1993)
Silent Tongue (1993)
as Eamon McCree
Unnatural Pursuits (1992)
Secret Friends (1991)
as John
Hamlet (1990)
as Claudius
102 Boulevard Haussmann (1990)
as Marcel Proust
Mister Frost (1990)
as Felix Detweiler
Dr. M (1990)
as Dr, Marsfeldt / Guru
Force majeure (1989)
as Malcolm Forrest
The Dog It Was That Died (1989)
as Blair
We Think the World of You (1988)
as Frank Meadows
A Prayer for the Dying (1987)
as Jack Meehan
Pack of Lies (1987)
as Stewart
Duet for One (1987)
as David Cornwallis
One for the Road (1985)
Dr. Fischer of Geneva (1984)
as Dr. Alfred Jones
A Voyage Round My Father (1984)
as John Mortimer
An Englishman Abroad (1983)
as Guy Burgess
The Wicked Lady (1983)
as Captain Jerry Jackson
The Return of the Soldier (1983)
as Captain Chris Baldry
Separate Tables (1983)
as John Malcolm / Maj. Pollock
Britannia Hospital (1982)
as Macready
Quartet (1981)
as H.J. Heidler
Ręce do góry (1981)
as Wikto
Very Like a Whale (1981)
Nijinsky (1980)
as Sergei Diaghilev
The Rose (1979)
as Rudge Campbell
An Unmarried Woman (1978)
as Saul Kaplan
The Shout (1978)
as Charles Crossley
The Collection (1976)
as James
Two Sundays (1975)
as Charles
Plaintiffs and Defendants (1975)
as Peter
Royal Flash (1975)
as Rudi Von Sternberg
In Celebration (1975)
as Andrew Shaw
The Story of Jacob and Joseph (1974)
as Narrator (voice)
Butley (1974)
as Ben Butley
Story of a Love Story (1973)
as Harry
Second Best (1972)
as Tom
A Day in the Death of Joe Egg (1972)
as Bri
The Go-Between (1971)
as Ted Burgess
Three Sisters (1970)
as Col. Vershinin
Women in Love (1969)
as Rupert Birkin
The Fixer (1968)
as Yakov Bok
Far from the Madding Crowd (1967)
as Gabriel Oak
Le Roi de cœur (1966)
as Charles Plumpick
Georgy Girl (1966)
as Jos Jones
Once Upon a Tractor (1965)
as Joe Turrel
Αλέξης Ζορμπάς (1964)
as Basil
Nothing But the Best (1964)
as Jimmy Brewster
The Running Man (1963)
as Stephen
The Caretaker (1963)
as Mick
A Kind of Loving (1962)
as Victor Arthur 'Vic' Brown
Whistle Down the Wind (1961)
as The Man
The Entertainer (1960)
as Frank Rice

Production Credits

Second Best (1972)