In the Name of the Father (1993)


A small time thief from Belfast, Gerry Conlon, is falsely implicated in the IRA bombing of a pub that kills several people while he is in London. He and his four friends are coerced by British police into confessing their guilt. Gerry's father and other relatives in London are also implicated in the crime. He spends fifteen years in prison with his father trying to prove his innocence.

In the Name of the Father 123movies
Movie Score: 7.9/10 from 997 votes
Release Date: 1993-12-12
Status: Released
Run time: 133 min / 2:13
Production Studio : Hell's Kitchen Films, Universal Pictures
Production Countries: United Kingdom, Ireland
Loading the player...

In the Name of the Father Casts

Daniel Day-Lewis
as Gerry Conlon
Pete Postlethwaite
as Giuseppe Conlon
Emma Thompson
as Gareth Peirce
John Lynch
as Paul Hill
Corin Redgrave
as Robert Dixon
Beatie Edney
as Carole Richardson
John Benfield
as Chief PO Barker
Paterson Joseph
as Benbay
Marie Jones
as Sarah Conlon
Gerard McSorley
as Belfast Detective Pavis
Frank Harper
as Ronnie Smalls
Mark Sheppard
as Paddy Armstrong
Don Baker
as Joe McAndrew
Alison Crosbie
as Girl in Pub
Philip King
as Guildford Soldier
Nye Heron
as IRA Man 1
Anthony Brophy
as Danny
Frankie McCafferty
as Tommo
Paul Warriner
as Soldier
Julian Walsh
as Soldier
Stuart Wolfenden
as Soldier
Jo Connor
as Bin Lady
Karen Carlisle
as Female Rioter
Seamus Moran
as IRA Man 2
Billy Byrne
as IRA Man 3
Maureen McBride
as Mother
Jane Nolan
as Girl with baby
Laurence Griffin
as Boy in riot
Jason Murtagh
as Boy in riot
Kelly McKeavney
as Young Girl
Joanna Irvine
as Ann Conlon
Fiona Daly
as IRA Woman
Catherine Dunne
as Woman on Balcony
Anna Megan
as Granny Conlon
Leah McCullagh
as Bridie Conlon
Saffron Burrows
as Girl in Commune
Jamie Harris
as Deptford Jim
Britta Smith
as Annie Maguire
Barbara Mulcahy
as Marian
Mick Tohill
as Man in Bookies
Peter Sheridan Snr.
as Manager of Bookies
Joe McPartland
as Charlie Burke
Stanley Townsend
as Hooker's Driver
Tim Perrin
as Detective
Tony Denham
as Detective
Rob Spendlove
as Detective
Phil Davis
as Detective
Martin Murphy
as Detective
Richard Graham
as Detective
Oliver Maguire
as Detective
Maurice Kehoe
as Detective
Rachael Dowling
as Policewoman
Tina Kellegher
as Policewoman
Ronan Wilmot
as Paddy Maguire
Maclean Burke
as Young Vincent Maguire
Joe Jeffers
as Young Patrick Maguire
Alistair Findlay
as Forensic Scientist
Peter Howitt
as Remand Prison Officer
Sean Lawlor
as Remand Prison Officer
Brian de Salvo
as Remand Prison Officer
Luke Hayden
as Remand Prison Officer
Aiden Grennell
as Trial Judge
Daniel Massey
as Prosecutor
Bosco Hogan
as Defense Counsel
Kenneth Edge
as Jury Foreman
Aine O'Connor
as Dixon's Wife
Guy Carleton
as Prison Admissions Officer
Dave Duffy
as Prison Officer
Martin Dunne
as Prison Officer
Larry Murphy
as Old Prison Officer
Richard Michaelis
as Cockney Prisoner
Mal Whyte
as Cockney Prisoner
John Gallagher
as Cockney Prisoner
Marcus Lynch
as Cockney Prisoner
Jer O'Leary
as Prisoner John O'Brien
Joey Cashman
as Prisoner
Alan Amsby
as Prisoner
Paul O'Grady
as Prisoner
Owen Conroy
as Prisoner
Dee Man Kole
as Prisoner
Bernard Pellegrinetti
as Prisoner
Emeka Okeki
as Prisoner
Alan O'Connor
as Prisoner
Mario McGovern
as Prisoner
John Joe Fontana
as Prisoner
Terry O'Neill
as Prisoner
Joey Legaspi
as Prisoner
Jimmie Bergin
as Prisoner
John Higgins
as Prisoner
Malcolm Tierney
as Home Office Official
Iain Montague
as Leader of Delegation
Paul Raynor
as New Chief Prison Officer
Clodagh Conroy
as Dixon's Secretary
Peter Sheridan
as Priest
Darren McHugh
as Dixon's Son
Peter Campbell
as Government Official
Alan Barry
as Archivist Jenkins
Jonathan Ryan
as Scottish Governor
John Pickles
as Procedural Court Judge
Liam O'Callaghan
as Archivist 2
Denys Hawthorne
as Appeal Judge
Tom Wilkinson
as Appeal Prosecutor

In the Name of the Father Crew

Crew Francis Ford Coppola Thanks
Crew Marlon Brando Thanks
Crew Al Pacino Thanks
Production Patsy Pollock Casting
Writing Terry George Screenplay
Production Terry George Co-Executive Producer
Sound Bono Songs
Production Gabriel Byrne Executive Producer
Sound Trevor Jones Original Music Composer
Camera Peter Biziou Director of Photography
Crew Peter Biziou Cinematography
Visual Effects Kent Houston Visual Effects
Editing Gerry Hambling Editor
Directing Jean Bourne Script Supervisor
Art Caroline Amies Production Design
Sound Kieran Horgan Sound mixer
Sound Ron Davis Sound Editor
Crew Bill Weston Stunts Coordinator
Production Arthur Lappin Co-Producer
Production Mary Alleguen Production Manager
Writing Jim Sheridan Screenplay
Directing Jim Sheridan Director
Production Jim Sheridan Producer
Sound Maurice Seezer Songs
Sound Gavin Friday Songs
Directing Gerry Toomey Assistant Director
Production Nye Heron Associate Producer
Writing Gerry Conlon Book
Crew Susan Jacobs Thanks
Art Rick Butler Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Joan Bergin Costume Design
Directing Simon Moseley Assistant Director
Production Nuala Moiselle Casting
Production Frank Moiselle Casting
Camera Martin Body Camera Operator
Crew Patrick Condren Stunts
Production Christian McWilliams Location Manager
Art Grania O'Shannon Location Scout
Costume & Make-Up Orla Carrol Hairstylist
Lighting Noel Cullen Electrician
Camera Des Whelan Camera Operator
Production Beverley Keogh Casting
Visual Effects Joss Williams Special Effects Supervisor
Camera Jonathan Hession Still Photographer
Crew Gerry Johnston Special Effects
Production Kathy Sykes Production Manager
Costume & Make-Up Sue Wain Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Anne Dunne Hairstylist
Art Russ Bailey Construction Coordinator
Crew Alan Walsh Stunts
Lighting Louis Conroy Gaffer
Camera John Murphy Grip
Crew James Hickey Legal Services
Costume & Make-Up Toni Delaney Makeup Artist
Lighting Peter Bloor Lighting Technician
Editing Peter Hunt Color Timer
Crew George A. Fleming Thanks